Coronavirus in NY: Gov. Cuomo adds, removes states on quarantine list

Albany, N.Y. — Gov. Andrew Cuomo is adding more states to New York’s coronavirus quarantine list, and removing others.

Cuomo announced Tuesday that people traveling from Hawaii, South Dakota and the U.S. Virgin Islands will now be required to self-quarantine for 14 days. The state also removed Alaska, New Mexico, Ohio, Rhode Island and Washington from the list.

New York first implemented the quarantine policy in June and has been regularly adding states where Covid-19 is still spreading rapidly, and removing them when cases decline. Travelers in quarantine from states that have been removed from the list should remain in quarantine for the full 14 days, Cuomo’s office said.

The full quarantine list now includes: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

The policy applies to any state with a positive coronavirus testing rate higher than 10 people per 100,000 residents or with an overall positive rate of 10% or higher, both based on seven-day rolling averages.

The quarantine policy includes exemptions for essential workers and doesn’t apply if a traveler is in a state on the list for less than 24 hours. New Yorkers returning home from states on the list must quarantine as well.

Cuomo has repeatedly said he is concerned that travelers from states with more widespread cases of the virus could end up spreading it in New York.

The state has been enforcing the quarantine by sending teams to airports to meet incoming travelers. All travelers from states on the quarantine list must also fill out a form when arriving, which collects contact information, where they’re coming from and where they’re going. New York City has set up random checkpoints at major bridges and tunnels around NYC to enforce quarantines.

Note: This story has been updated to add that a fifth state, Washington, has been removed from the New York quarantine list.


Coronavirus in NY: Cases, maps, charts and resources

New York’s true nursing home death toll from coronavirus cloaked in secrecy

McMahon touts Onondaga County’s low coronavirus rate among kids as schools prepare to open

Wedding receptions in NY may have more than 50 guests, court rules

Complete coronavirus coverage on

Source link


More Posts